Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Chinchilla Safe Treats  (Read 3515 times)

gypsy26

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Chinchilla Safe Treats
« on: April 16, 2009, 03:12:53 PM »

I am new to owning a chinchilla and am learning as I go.  So I was just wondering what kind of treats are safe to allow chinchillas to have. 
Mom to...

2 Sugar Gliders - Damon and Thor
2 Chinchillas - Gypsy and Chin

Jo Ann

• Global Moderator
  • Appreciation points: 59
  • Chinchillas are a little bit of heaven on earth.
    • View Profile
    • Luv 'N Chins
Re: Chinchilla Safe Treats
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 08:27:29 AM »

::silly::  It is not necessary to give a chin any treats, but it's hard not to when you see their precious begging face ... I think little kids must learn from them.    :)

Now, to be serious...
All chins are different, each have their own personalities (like humans) and they also have allergies (like humans).
Keep a booklet/log/list/calendar where you mark down important information.  Make a list of "Can have" and "Do not feed" and keep it next to the cage.
When you give a chin a new treat be sure you give him the same one every day for a week to make sure he is not going to have any ill effects from it.  If he develops diarrhea or any other ill effect, discontinue giving it to him and make sure you list it as a "Do not feed."

Remember: A chinchilla will consider most anything you give them by hand a treat.

Some treats:
dried papaya (a good source of vitamins)
dried rose hips (a good source of vitamins)
dried macaroni
mini wheats, not sugar coated  (fiber and nutrients)
oyster crackers
animal crackers ... not very often, they contain sugar
raisins ... not very often, high sugar content  (vitamins and fiber)
cranraisins (dried cranberries)... not very often, high sugar content (vitamins and fiber)