Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playtime  (Read 1588 times)

aisling

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Playtime
« on: January 30, 2010, 05:38:35 PM »

Hi... I'm new to the chinchilla world. I have two myself, by the names of chilli and sunni!

I was just wondering about their playtime... How long do they need out of the cage? Do they need to out every night? At the moment they are out every second night for about 3hrs.. on the nights they dont go out, they have plenty of toys in their which I hope keeps them amused. I would hate for them to be bored.

Any help would be great.
Thanks

cusunfireguy

• Appreciation points: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Playtime
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2010, 06:09:52 PM »

You know, every chinchilla is different.  They usually will acclimate to your routine.  We let ours out every day or two.  We let them decide when to go back in as they are trained to.  Mine usually stay out a 1/2 hour or so then go back in and stretch out.  It's all up to the chinchilla.  You must have your place really chin proofed if they are out 3 hours!  We chin proof like crazy and they still find something to get into!

Steven
Steven Mobley<br /><br />\"Free Schapelle Corby\"!

chinclub

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 66
    • View Profile
    • Lowcountry Chinchillas
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2010, 07:36:55 AM »