Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: he's lonely, but i cant get another chin until April, what can i do?  (Read 2074 times)

sarahlydear

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile

So I'm a student and I'm gone all day and then i work and have other chores so I'm usually not there in the evening and Herby doesn't get out until about 10ish. In the morning he is let out to run the room while i clean his cage and i try to come in to say hi when i get home from school before running to work, also i try to keep talking to him and paying all attention to him at night. Another thing i do is bring him out to visit the family sometimes at night, but he still seems lonely and will get depressed. He also has a really soft, fuzzy teddy bear in his cage that he sleeps with (it is SOOOO cute!!). I will be making a bigger cage after Christmas, but i probably wont be able to get another chin until about April. What else can i do to help him out? Last night he just got so depressed and wouldn't come out of the cage, but he perked up because we had some visitors that loved on him a bit. I just don't know what else i can do and it breaks my heart to see him so sad sometimes:(.

Debbie.nl.ca

• Breeder
  • Appreciation points: 30
    • View Profile
    • Debbie's Newfoundland Chinchillas
Re: he's lonely, but i cant get another chin until April, what can i do?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010, 02:49:19 PM »

Give him lots of toys to play with, and interchange them for night to night.
Does he have a wheel?
Leave a radio or TV on for him, some love watching TV.
Debbie.nl.ca

dianah

• Appreciation points: 22
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2010, 02:54:59 PM »