Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rabbit Feed for Chinchillas?  (Read 2191 times)

TayPants

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
Rabbit Feed for Chinchillas?
« on: July 01, 2013, 10:44:08 AM »

Hi I am completely new to Chinchillas and just joined this site and I have a few questions about Chinchillas. I am getting my chinchillas this weekend and before I bring them home I want to learn more about them. My biggest question is if they can eat rabbit food. I raise rabbits and have about 35 right now and I heard that they can eat some rabbit food. Is this true?

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Rabbit Feed for Chinchillas?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 12:47:33 PM »

The only rabbit foods I know of that are safe can be found on TJ's Chinchilla Supplies. I've fed Purina Rabbit Show with good results. Most rabbit foods are not safe and should not be fed to chinchillas. You probably know this  already you should not feed fresh fruits and vegetables to chinchillas like you do rabbits. Chins should have a a diet of hay and hay based pellets and should not have access to the rabbits' veggies.
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

TayPants

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2013, 03:00:06 PM »

I actually don't feed my rabbits vegetables and fruits because they are show rabbits and like chinchillas most fruits and vegetables cause diarrhea and other stomach problems with the rabbits. They are on a strict pellet and hay diet. I feed them Purina Rabbit Chow Show and Professional and I was hoping to be able to feed the Chins the same thing.

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator