Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: chinchilla thinks my fingers are food?  (Read 883 times)

Decimus

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
chinchilla thinks my fingers are food?
« on: August 28, 2013, 03:34:08 PM »

My chinchilla always tries to bite my fingers hard when I when I hold my hands out for him to smell or give him a treat. How do I get to not wanna eat my hands?

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: chinchilla thinks my fingers are food?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 06:28:09 AM »

This sounds like part of a complex problem. How tame is your pet and how he he around people?
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

Decimus

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 09:46:38 AM »

I haven't had him around any other people yet.  I only got him about 3 weeks ago.  However, he is fairly tame.  He is perfectly comfortable running up to me and sitting on my lap before bouncing off and he has never bit me out of anger I believe.  I think this trait only started after the first time I gave him a treat.

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2013, 11:30:07 AM »