Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My Chinchilla is Sick and I dont know what to do :(  (Read 1488 times)

Rebecky

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
My Chinchilla is Sick and I dont know what to do :(
« on: January 13, 2015, 10:01:11 AM »

This is my first time on this website and it is amazing! Two days ago my Chinchilla, Chilly, started having what appeared to be breathing problems. So we took him to the vet first thing Sunday morning, unfortunately she was not an exotic vet and she couldn't recommend me to one. Since it was critical to get attention to him she said she would do her best. So she x-rayed him and found out he had gas in his stomach and intestines. we kept him there over night where she put a tube down his throat and sucked out some of the gas and debris but not all of it. Now we have him home but he is not eating, or drinking, or popping. We are force feeding him Oxbow critical care and some water so he is hopefully getting some nutrients. The vet has been less than helpful and we have spent over $600 at this one place and cant afford to go to another and start over. Has anyone had this problem? Will he get better on his own? Should we stop feeding him because he hasn't had a bowel movement? any help would be much appreciated, I just dont want him in pain!
Thanks,
Rebecca

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: My Chinchilla is Sick and I dont know what to do :(
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 10:58:36 AM »