Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hay.  (Read 6094 times)

Jenova

• Appreciation points: 6
  • Cheech ^_^
    • View Profile
Hay.
« on: January 14, 2007, 12:36:02 PM »

I was just curious as to the difference between types of hay. Not the makes themselves but types, such as meadow hay, timothy hay etc. Why are certain types better for chinnies than others?

:::grins::

jmrothermel

• Appreciation points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Hay.
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2007, 12:59:00 PM »

I'm not an expert, and I'm sure someone here might be able to help you better, but I'll tell you what I know :)

If you are feeding them alfalfa based pellets (such as mazuri, Oxbow, etc) I've heard then you should give them a different type of hay such as Timothy.

If you are feeding them Timothy hay based pellets, then its vice versa.

I'm sure someone here can help you understand better the differences, but thats the info I've gotten.

Jacqui
~Jacqui~
Member of the MCBA
My name is
Lily

Adopt your own

Jenova

• Cheech ^_^
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2007, 04:28:55 PM »

Actually that's quite interesting because we found out that all the pellets in the UK are not hay or alfalfa based, so should he be getting a bit of both?

Joyce

• Appreciation points: 9
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2007, 07:25:14 PM »

I feed my herd of 30 Mazuri pellets which has alfalfa in it already.  They don't get any additional alfalfa except a pinch for a treat every now & then.  One of our momma's was very calcium depleted so she got alfalfa through her pregnancy and after for quite some time.  We also give her 2 kits alfalfa hay.
We give everyone unlimited timothy hay.  Timothy is important for them not only nutritionally but to help them wear down their teeth.