Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: drooling chinchilla  (Read 6071 times)

kirby

• Appreciation points: 1
    • View Profile
drooling chinchilla
« on: May 20, 2009, 06:18:06 PM »

I do not know how forums work,I've never used one before. I hope someone will get this posting and be able to help me. We got our chinchilla about 2 years ago at our local humane society. He was said to be about 4 years old at the time. Ever since we got him he has had problems with drooling. We have taken him to the vet many times. He has been on antibiotics, had x-rays,and he even has had his teeth filed down and some rotten ones removed. He always ends up still drooling. He has never been a chewer. (We had a chinchilla before and she chewed everything) We have tried lava stones, mineral wheels,wooden blocks and sticks, basically everything you can find for a chinchilla to chew, and he does not like any of it. He also does not eat his hay. We feed him Kaytee chinchilla fiesta. Has any one had problems like this with their chinchilla or have any suggestions? We love him dearly and want him to be better.
Liz

eringoesmoo

• Appreciation points: 2
  • RIP Lollita
    • View Profile
Re: drooling chinchilla
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2009, 06:21:41 PM »

I'm not sure what to tell you as far as the drooling goes. Is it maloclusion(sp?), but I can tell you that it'd be best for you to switch him over to some food other than the Kaytee Fiesta. It's not good for their digestive system. I'd recommend Mazuri.

cadillactaste

• Appreciation points: 5
  • Fluffy (Standard) and Nibbles (Violet)
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2009, 06:39:31 PM »