Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Play time...  (Read 2364 times)

todd0329

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Play time...
« on: August 22, 2007, 04:38:38 PM »

Hey fellow Chinchilla lovers...
My girlfriend and I (proud owners of two Chins) are curious about what some of you do with your Chins at play time.   We pretty much let our Chins out of the cage twice a day.  Being a teacher, I have the summer off and can spend a little more time with our Chins than the 'average' owner.  Our Chins seem to like to be let out at around 11am or so.  They run around for a while, then go back to the cage on their own and/or fall asleep under the cage, or in a closet upstairs.  We have Chin proofed our whole house (3-stories), and hence, give them full-run of the place.  After their dinner (usually around 5-6pm), we open the cage door and let them decide if they want to come out or not.  Without fail, they'll come and visit us as we watch TV in the loft (our 3rd floor).  They go back into the cage around 11pm with the incentive of treats. 
As far as play, one of our Chins (named Baby) likes to be chased (as mentioned in another post - See http://www.chinchillaclub.com/forum/index.php/topic,949.0.html).  We discovered last night that they long for attention after play time when they're back in their cage.  Both Baby and Chilli (our other significant other) enjoyed some tug o' war with us with the apple and peach wood sticks, as well as some other interesting play.  And, they were both interested in climbing our outstretched hands and arms (and our shoulders as we hunched down by one of their platforms).  This was all new to us, and we'll try it again tonight.  We feel that they are becoming more at ease with us (they are 8 months old now, and we got them at age 3 months).