Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Older chin harassing newer  (Read 2133 times)

eagyn

• Appreciation points: 2
    • View Profile
Older chin harassing newer
« on: November 21, 2010, 12:05:57 AM »

I just got a new chinchilla (male) and I introduced him to my only other chin (also male), My older one keeps trying to mount my new chin. I don't think anything harmful would come of this I just don't want him to be harassed to much. He doesn't try to do this that often its been about 2 days and I've seen him try a couple times. Help?

chingirls

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Older chin harassing newer
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 04:21:20 AM »

i hate to be the one to tell you this,Im new to owning a chinchilla. but from watching mine,having them in same cage hun is not good. they need their own cage. i thought they can be aggresive ::tickedoff:: after a bit.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 04:24:53 AM by chingirls »

ABC Chinchillas

• Global Moderator
  • Appreciation points: 27
    • View Profile
    • ABC Chinchillas
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 08:37:45 AM »

You can keep two males in the same cage just fine. As long as there is no agression. Mounting is a sign of dominance your older male is dominating your younger male. If there is no chasing and fur flying they should be fine. There is always a risk thugh with more than one chinchilla that they will need to be separated. Most of my chinchillas who are not in breeding have a same sex cagemate.  You will want to double check the sex though especially if you bought from a backyard breeder or pet store
Elaine McFee and Kristy Morici
starleomach@comcast.net
ABC Chinchillas
abcchinchillas.com

eagyn

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2010, 11:32:05 AM »