Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Too Late?  (Read 4065 times)

gavinschin

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Too Late?
« on: January 28, 2010, 10:56:17 PM »

Okay. So I'm new to chins and i just got my first.

Ive never been so good at following rules, but after careful thought i need to follow the rules for the results im looking for.

i have had my chin for about 4 days. i made huge mistakes. i changed EVERYTHING, down the the food and bedding. i have let it out of the cage and played with it non stop.

I know :::((( im sorry. :'(

well, the only good news is that the chin seems pretty comfortable with everything but loud noises and anything moving fast.

the bad news, i think i may have ruined my chance at doing it right.

i have recently read all i can about them and talked to a breeder. and i decided to start over, i bought a new cage that is pretty big and everything, i went and got the food and everything he was on before i got him and he seems happier now. he even sleeps and plays in his ferret hanging bed and stands on my hand some times.

is there any chance that if i keep him in his cage and and only give him treats for training purposes, that i might have a chance at doing it right?

chinclub

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 66
    • View Profile
    • Lowcountry Chinchillas
Re: Too Late?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 07:33:25 AM »

OK...lets back up to the beginning.  First of all.  Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your first chinchilla!!!!  ::wave::

Now, as for "doing it right" the only thing I see that stands out as a red flag is that you changed his food.  Other than that what makes you think you are making mistakes??