Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Major Love-Hate Relationship going on. Help?  (Read 5480 times)

sarahlydear

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Major Love-Hate Relationship going on. Help?
« on: January 16, 2011, 09:08:57 PM »

So I've had Herby for a year, he was seeming to get lonely and as a full time student I wasn't able to spend as much time with him as I would like. So I got him a friend: Theo. At first Theo HATED Herby to the point I stopped trying to put them together and accepted that Herby would have to be alone until I can get my own place (no more room for other chins). Recently Herby and Theo have decided to "get over it" meaning they can be carried around together with no problem and can spend 30minutes together, any longer and they start fighting again.
I'm super stoked about this (it's a start)but the thing is they groom each other, then try to hump each other, run around apart from each other, stop for a sec,try to hump, run, groom and it starts all over again.
I know that it is a dominance thing and they get Really crabby and won't be quiet if they don't get time together, but they get frustrated with each other and won't stop trying to hump. Herby usually wins but it hasn't stopped; it's been a week, every night for 30minutes.
Is this normal and is there anything I can do to help it?
...I'm not gonna lie I'm kinda scared I have gay chinchillas since I usually end up picking the gay breeding rabbits...

ABC Chinchillas

• Global Moderator
  • Appreciation points: 27
    • View Profile
    • ABC Chinchillas
Re: Major Love-Hate Relationship going on. Help?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 11:49:32 AM »