Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New To-Be Owner  (Read 1792 times)

ylrebmik

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
New To-Be Owner
« on: October 20, 2011, 01:08:24 PM »

Hello!

I'm new to the chinchilla world, and although I've been researching for weeks, I still have some lingering questions. We were in the process of choosing our chinchillas and came across a difference of opinion. We're getting two chins... and one person told me females are hard to bond together. And the other breeder told me males were harder to bond to eachother. Which is true?

jmdebb

• Appreciation points: 28
    • View Profile
    • Chinchilla Supplies
Re: New To-Be Owner
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 01:50:17 PM »

there's always a possibility they wont get along, and you may need two cages... but just a possibility..
Your One Stop Chin Shop
http://www.tjschinchillasupplies.com/chinchillafood.html
Huge variety, safe, affordable & brand names
:)
:)

dianah

• Appreciation points: 22
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2011, 11:27:57 AM »

i think with any pairing (two males, two females, male and female), you have the same problem. they may get on, they may not. they may get on quicker, sometimes it takes time. chinchi and fluffy took two months to bond and until the last week it looked like they would never get on, they wanted to kill each other every time they saw each other. just last week, i managed to get my rescue girl live with one of my boys (he's neutered) - we started the introductions in april. apparently, two adults are harder to bond than an adult and a kit.